With the ever-rising costs of construction accidents, it’s important to have expert legal help when you need it most. Whether your accident occurred at work or on the job site, you’ll want to seek help from one of the top construction accident attorneys in the country, someone who will take your case seriously and help you recover everything you deserve in compensation. In this post, we’ll tell you more about how to find the right construction accident attorney to get your case moving forward and how to know if they’re working as hard as they can on your behalf.
What is the most common accident in construction?
Falling from heights is by far one of construction’s most common accidents. This is especially true for residential construction where home builders are not required to use safety precautions such as guardrails, fall protection, and high-visibility safety clothing. A falling accident can cause serious and permanent injuries like brain damage, spinal cord injury, or even paralysis. A construction accident attorney can help injured workers receive full compensation for their medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Contact a knowledgeable accident attorney today if you or someone you know has suffered a catastrophic injury while working in construction.
Which cause is the biggest killer of an accident in the construction industry?
Falls are one of the most common reasons construction workers become injured on a job site. Falls come in many forms from simple slips to falls from ladders or scaffolding. Whatever form they take, they can be devastating to your health and your finances. According to OSHA, each year approximately 5,000 workers are killed and over 2 million suffer work-related injuries. To make matters worse, approximately 20% of those injuries result in death within 30 days. You could find yourself facing thousands of dollars in medical bills with no means to pay them and no way back into a safe career for quite some time. A serious injury can throw your life into chaos and change it forever.
Every year, thousands of construction workers are injured or killed in workplace accidents. Although they’re fairly common, many people don’t realize how serious these injuries can be and what you should do if you find yourself in an accident. The more information you have about your rights and options after a construction accident, the better off you’ll be for years to come. With a construction accident attorney on your side, you’ll never have to face injury alone.
What’s the standard percentage lawyers take after a car accident lawsuit?
In Colorado, a personal injury lawsuit must be filed within 2 years of an incident. So if you are reading our answer to your question after more than two years have passed, then you’re out of luck! The statute of limitations or deadline for a construction accident in Colorado is two years from the date of accrual. The date of accrual is when an injury has been caused and it can reasonably be determined that an injury has been sustained.
The standard fee for personal injury lawyers after a car accident in Colorado is 33.3%. This is set by a Colorado State Statute called CRS §13-21-106(1)(b). What does that mean? This means that, unless you and your construction accident attorney reach an agreement to waive or reduce your lawyer’s fees, or there is a contractual agreement between you and your lawyer that states otherwise, 33.3% of any award made by the Colorado court after trial will be paid to your lawyer. So if you receive an award of $100,000 in damages against a party who was negligent, then $33,333 would go directly to your lawyer as his fee.
How long after an accident can you sue for personal injury?
Personal injury lawsuits have a statute of limitations (SOL), which is a specific time frame in which you must file your lawsuit. It varies from state to state and from the type of case, but it is usually between 1 and 3 years. In some states, such as Texas, there are no time limits for filing certain types of personal injury cases.Car Accident Lawyer San Bernardino If you are in an accident that’s not your fault and someone else should be held accountable for damages like medical bills or lost wages, it’s important to contact an attorney right away even if you don’t think your injuries are serious or life-changing.
Statutes of limitations differ depending on what state you’re in, but in California, a personal injury case must be filed within three years of your accident. But that doesn’t mean you have to wait until three years have passed to take action after an accident. If a lawyer can tell from your medical records or other evidence that you were injured in an accident, they can get started on filing a lawsuit while they gather more evidence and complete their investigation.
A construction accident attorney will help you recover losses caused by faulty equipment or unsafe conditions: Construction accidents happen all too often, and due to heavy machinery, scaffolding, and high elevation it’s even more important for workers’ compensation lawyers to pay attention if you fall ill after construction work has ended.